Side Pictire K2

International Scientific Advisory Board

The International Scientific Advisory Board will contribute to drawing the Scientific Program of the Congress and each member will be in charge of reviewing a number of abstract submissions, both for oral presentations and posters, closely related to his or her field of interest and expertise.

Click below to see the complete list.

Members of the PRION 2014 Scientific Advisory Board:

Adriano Aguzzi -Institute of Neuropathology University Hospital of Zurich, Switzerland

Olivier Andreoletti - Ecole nationale vétérinaire de Toulouse, France

Jason C. Bartz, Creighton University, USA

Ilia Baskakov - University of Maryland School of Medicine, USA

Maria Laura Bolognesi - Università di Bologna, Italy

Paolo Carloni - German Research School for Simulation Sciences, Germany

Cristina Casalone - S.S. Laboratorio Neuropatologia, IZSTO, Italy

Neil Cashman - University of British Columbia (UBC), Canada

Joaquin Castilla - CICbioGUNE, Parque Tecnológico de Vizcaya, Spain

Roberto Chiesa - Istituto di Ricerche Farmacologiche "Mario Negri", Italy

Marc Diamond - Washington University School of Medicine, USA

Jean Philippe Deslys - Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique, France

Pierluigi Gambetti - Case Western Reserve University, USA

Michael D. Geschwind - University of California, San Francisco, USA

Andrew Hill - Bio21 Molecular Science & Biotechnology Institute, Australia

Edward Hoover - Colorado State University, USA

Jan Langeveld - Central Veterinary Institute of Wageningen UR, Lelystad, The Netherlands

Giuseppe Legname - International School for Advanced Studies, Italy (Chair)

Giovanna Mallucci - MRC Toxicology Unit, Leicester, UK

Jean Manson - University of Edinburgh, UK

Vilma R. Martins - AC Camargo Cancer Center, São Paulo, Brazil

Glenn Millhauser - University of California, Santa Cruz, USA

Romolo Nonno - Istituto Superiore di Sanità, Italy

Piero Parchi - Università di Bologna, Italy

Janez Plavec - NMR Center at National Institute of Chemistry, Slovenia

Maurizio Pocchiari - Istituto Superiore di Sanità, Italy

Jesus Requena - Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Detlev Riesner - Heinrich-Heine-Universität-Düsseldorf, Germany

Hermann M. Schatzl - University of Calgary, Canada

Fabrizio Tagliavini - Fondazione IRCCS Istituto Neurologico Carlo Besta, Italy

Motomasa Tanaka - RIKEN Brain Science Institute, Japan

Albert Taraboulos - The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Glenn Telling - Colorado State University, USA

Juan Maria Torres - Instituto Nacional de Investigación y Tecnología Agraria y Alimentaria, Spain

Ina Vorberg - German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE), Germany

David Westaway - Centre for Prions and Protein Folding Diseases, University of Alberta, Canada

Robert Will - National Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease Surveillance Unit, Western General Hospital, UK

Holger Wille - Department of Biochemistry, University of Alberta, Canada

Gianluigi Zanusso - Università di Verona, Italy

Chiara Zurzolo - Membrane traffic and Pathogenesis Unit, Institut Pasteur, France


  • The event will be held on the premises of The International School for Advanced Studies. To reach the venue from downtown Trieste a free-of-charge shuttle bus will be available for the days of the Congress. The bus will leave from Piazza Oberdan (near the tramway number 2 stop, see the map) according to the following schedule:

    Downtowm Trieste - SISSA, departures every 10 minutes

    May 27: 16.15 – 18.30 (we recommend that you take an early bus to pick your badge and delegate bag on-site)
    May 28: 07.30 – 08.30
    May 29: 07.30 – 08.30
    May 30: 07.30 – 08.30

    SISSA - Downtown Trieste, departures every 10 minutes

    May 27:  20.30 – 22.30
    May 28:  17.00 – 18.45
    May 29:  17.00 – 18.45
    May 30:  17.00 – 18.45

    Poster viewing sessions

    The evening Poster viewing sessions will take place at the Magazzino 42, downtown Trieste.   

Important Dates

  • All deadlines are strictly enforced and expire at 23:59 Central European Time on the designated date

    Nov. 18, 2013 - Online registration starts 
    Jan. 10, 2014 - Early-bird fee deadline
    Apr. 25, 2014 - Regular fee deadline
    Nov. 18, 2013 - Abstract submission starts
    Feb. 24, 2014 - Abstract submission ends 
    Mar. 7, 2014 - Abstract notification 
    Mar. 20, 2014 - Hotel special rate deadline